recrafting a quilt……..

i love this quilt. i bought it in round top from a great dealer named harol hollis. it was really the first time i had ever met harold and he gave me a wonderful deal on this piece. the first of many great deals.

so when the quilt after much use and love started to fray, i decided i would have to tackle the task of the repair myself. the price i paid was so minimal that maybe in my eyes this piece wasnt worth paying to have the repairs done, but i love this quilt and to me it is priceless, so maybe i just wanted to repair it myself.                      

There are so many things i love about this quilt. the colors are dramatic. the pattern is big , bordering on huge ,and the fabric is a cool crepe, not the typical cotton fabric that we usually imagine with quilts. there are some cotton pieces in the quilt but they are almost homespun in their roughness and surprisingly they are the pieces that must be replaced as if they finally decided to revolt and get away from this rebellious piece.  even the back of the quilt looks amazing and the fabric is as contemporary in its boldness as it is quant in its subject matter.

it could easily be seen in an anthropologie cataloque today. 

i would guess this quilt was made at least in the 50′s, but i lean a little more towards the 30-40′s.

this makes me wonder about the creator of the quilt. i think i must know her .

she had to be a dreamer, a young woman who thought out of the box. but her box may have been the 1950s, when the box for women was a tad more confining than it is today.

and somehow this quilt brought to mind a picture of my mom with her graduating class. she is the one looking off  tothe left.

i think about how she would often take the road less travelled in her opinions and then would “VOICE” them. what a journey she made. what changes she saw.

but i know she is not the only woman i have known that had an amazing story and a dream that if not fufilled by them, might one day be dreamed by a daughter or granddaughter.

i wonder sometimes where my stories come from , and my love for telling them. my mom was a woman of direct communication. she had romantic notions and loved to read, but she was not a story teller. when i asked about her past and the stories of her family she would complain to me that those things were not important, or that she just simply did not know the answers. after all, her mom grew up in a tenement house in new york, helping to raise her siblings who were without parents, orphaned at an early age. she died in a sanitarium for tuberculosis in san angelo, texas in the early 20′s. maybe these were stories that she would rather not remember.

so i had other women in my life, storytellers and dreamers who could see beauty and create it and had a life or maybe just a soul that inspired it in others.  i think of them as angels of mychildhood, who helped me remain an optomist. encouraged me with their humor and storytelling to believe in beauty and myself.

simone garcia was one of these angels, and tiny stepchinski was the other.

these ladies would encourage me, that i Could have long hair if i wanted it, and i could sing like a bird and that life could be fun,,,,,,and that storytelling is an art.

i think they would love my quilt.

i know my mom would.

20 Responses to “recrafting a quilt……..”

  1. Maryann Garcia-Rodriguez Says:

    Frannie, you do not know how often I think of your Mom. The minute I met her, I knew where I stood. I was drawn to her. I wanted to know more. She shared some stories that I’m sure you had heard. I felt honored to be included into a small bit of her past. It helped me understand her better.
    I often wonder if had she not lost her own Mother at such an early age, would we have seen another side to her? She mourned her Mother all of her life.
    Thank you for remembering my Mother so fondly. She was a classy lady. I have a picture of her posted on FaceBook. She was 18 when it was taken.
    Love you, Frannie!

    • maryanne i would love to print your moms pic on this post, if i can figure out how to do it. isnt it great that we loved each others moms. kinda makes us sisters for sure.
      love you, fran

  2. I LOVE your site, Fran! What a journey you have been on and I’m so glad you’re back. Your bunnies are SSOO adorable….I would have a hard time choosing a favorite! I have a couple old quilts I need to repair, but haven’t found the time as of yet. Winters are long in Iowa, so hopefully I’ll get at least one finished. Thanks for sharing………Hugs and prayers to you!! Lin
    MJFG #1873

  3. A wonderful story, Frannie. And very comforting to the end—just like you quilt is comforting to you. MB

  4. Fran, who’s the beautiful lady at the end of the post?

    • hi carla, that is a picture of tiny stepchinski. the stepchinskis lived next door to us. they had four children and the two youngest, peggy and david were friends of mine. peggy and i were galpals, and i still love her to this day. david died last year and it is still hard to believe. he was younger than me, but in my age group for sure. he was an inspiration to me and most folks who knew him and i think helped me to be as good a therapist as i was . some day i will write more about david. right now it would probably be hard to do so.

  5. Forgot to tell you how gorgeous you are in that family photo. Wow.

    • thanks so much. sometimes these days i am amazed at how i look. i have the shortest hair and NO eyebrows. it makes me have a kind of geico look. no kidding. but thanks so much for your comment, carla. country says to me, you are still pretty fran, and of course that is what matters most to me.

  6. What a sweet old quilt. I love the colors and the ones that got some use always feel so good. It is never a bad thing to repair a quilt. my favorites are a;ways the shabby sweet old ones, the make do quilts that really talk to you. it looks like forties fabric to me, but mostly it just looks great…Karin

    • thanks so much, karin for reading my post and letting me know with your comment. so glad you commented also about the age. i think it is 40s as well, but always love more opinions.
      please come back again when i post.
      love,
      frannie in texas

  7. Connie Boswell Hanks Says:

    Fran – Love the story – you have such a way with words. The quilt is beautiful. Your angels are with you still.

    • thanks for your comment connie, and i have to agree. i have always felt i had the most blessed life, and yes i have many angels around me.

      • my mama used to say poor fran this or that happened, and she would say, if you were on oprah, they’d have to do a mini series, but honestly i would look around and see that no ones life was without its sorrow, and in many ways i felt luckier than most i would see. course i may just be too goofy to know any better!!!!

  8. Beautiful post, wonderful writing! I came over from Mary Janes Farm, nice to have found your blog!
    Stephanie
    aka The Park Wife

  9. Frannie,
    I love the quilt and see how it would be inspirational. I love that you are able to share the way your mind makes connections, from the quilt to the time it comes from and from that to your mom and other amazing women. Thanks for sharing it with us.
    Also its great that you have the talent of saving that gorgeous quilt!
    Susan ( Cindy Lou on MJF)

    • dear susan, thanks so much for reading and leaving a comment. i am just blindly stitching this quilt and hope it will be the better for it, but all my girls love the colors and i dont want to send it off without some attempt at repair.
      love,
      frannie in texas

  10. Jonni Lynch Says:

    Frannie, so glad to see you blogging again–this is one of my guilty pleasures, while at work, “peering” into your life–a beloved, beautiful life. And your journey through it. I love seeing the picture of your mother then and later–what a beautiful woman, strong, independent–it’s no wonder you are who YOU are!

    • hi jonni, so glad to hear from you and what sweet words you have for me. believe me, i took them to my heart!
      my mom was an amazingly strong woman, and i think about her everyday. trust me when i tell you if the world was according to leonora, it would be a much better place. all the women in my early days were very amazing women and most of them were stay at home moms, simone was a business owner, but every bit the mother.
      i was so glad to here this weekend that things were going better at your home with little violet. she is such a sweetie i know and her mom is terrific!!!!!
      i think about yall alot and hope soon i will get a chance to come to kentucky and meet all of you kentucky girls.
      love,
      frannie in texas

  11. Fran, my best and life-long friend, you took my breath away this morning. It is my birthday today, and to open this up and see my mother’s face was glorious. I know my mother loved you dearly, and she was just as you say, the person who would tell you to grow your hair long, wear it any way you liked, sing every chance you got because you sing like an angel, and that you were beautiful. You never believed that when you were younger. I hope you realize now that you are beautiful still and very loved. My mother did have great stories, didn’t she? I would give anything to hear them today. She would have loved that quilt, just like I do. My mother made me feel that I could do anything, there were no boundaries, and she was wise enough the summer I graduated from high school to see that there was a man that adored me and just because I was 17 didn’t mean I couldn’t marry him. We have just celebrated our 41st anniversary and I always thank her on that day for being smart enough to see real love when she looked at Roland and me. Thanks for this especially wonderful birthday gift. Love you still. Peggy

  12. Nancy Ravisé-Noel Says:

    Well, hello Gal Pal! Thanks for sharing your thoughtful post with all of us. Under your experienced and loving hands that quilt will be looking splendid once again. What a soothing project for long winter nights. Love, Nance

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers

